The Dirty Dozen and the Clean Fifteen

         I have always tried to eat as much organic as I could afford.  But when the organic bananas are sitting right next to the conventionally grown bananas and there is a 50 cent difference, it jump starts the dialogue I have in my head about what choices to make.  “Okay, I can get these regular bananas, but then I have to make sure to get the organic bell peppers that are $3.00 a piece.”  I will continue this rationalizing through the whole produce section until my basket is full.  My rationalizations are not based on anything but trying to make myself feel okay about buying non-organic and at the end of my shopping trip I often times end up spending just as much, if not more than I intended to!
              Luckily I came across these lists of Do’s and Don’ts the EWG (Environmental Working Group) came out with to help when it comes to buying organic or non-organically grown food.  Nearly all of the data used took into account how people typically wash and prepare produce – for example, apples were washed and bananas peeled before testing.  Replacing the dirty with the clean can eliminate 92% of the pesticides that you consume in fresh produce.

The Dirty Dozen:

  • Apples
  • Celery
  • Strawberries
  • Peaches
  • Spinach
  • Nectarines (imported)
  • Grapes (imported)
  • Sweet bell peppers
  • Potatoes
  • Blueberries (domestic)
  • Lettuce
  • Kale/collard greens

The Clean Fifteen:

  • Onions
  • Sweet corn
  • Pineapples
  • Avocado
  • Asparagus
  • Sweet peas
  • Mangoes
  • Eggplant
  • Cantaloupe (domestic)
  • Kiwi
  • Cabbage
  • Watermelon
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Grapefruit
  • Mushrooms
Here is the list of the total 47 different fruits and vegetables that the EWG ranked.
And….
Here is a cute little cheat sheet created by Heidi Kenney that you can print out and carry in our wallet.
, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

What do you think? We want to know!

